Assignment 3 – Revisited

In her tutor feedback for Assignment 3 my tutor mentioned that she thought I had too many shadow images in my series and suggested changing out some using found objects.

I really had to wrack my brain to come up with some found object that was South African as we had emigrated with suitcases full of clothes, a few precious books and all our photographs and not much else. Today I came across an Afrikaans Bible belonging to my husband which I thought would convey the accent and mannerisms image (fig. 03) quite well. Attending Sunday School and church on Sundays is very much part of the fabric of society in South Africa. I have chosen only to replace one of the shadow images so that there is now an equal balance of found and shadow images. I also chose not to include the double exposure image as I don’t think it will fit in the series due to the abstract nature. I will, however, explore that line sometime in the future. Maybe I will get the opportunity in the next module.

This is my final set of images for Assignment 3:

Fig 01 As a new immigrant, the initial sense of dislocation is enormous (1)
Fig 01 As a new immigrant, the initial sense of dislocation is enormous (1)
Fig 02 There are many new things to learn and get used to – like driving in snow
Fig 02 There are many new things to learn and get used to – like driving in snow
Fig 03 Your accent and mannerisms will always set you that little bit apart (1)
Fig 03 Your accent and mannerisms will always set you that little bit apart (1)
Fig 04 We regret to inform you that, although your qualifications are superb, you lack the necessary Canadian experience …
Fig 04 We regret to inform you that, although your qualifications are superb, you lack the necessary Canadian experience …
Fig 05 No shared sense of humour. You put a big part of your South African-ness in a box and stash it away (3)
Fig 05 No shared sense of humour. You put a big part of your South African-ness in a box and stash it away (3)
Fig 06 No shared childhood, no shared memories of things that historically happened, no frame of reference to things people sometimes refer to or remember (4)
Fig 06 No shared childhood, no shared memories of things that historically happened, no frame of reference to things people sometimes refer to or remember (4)
Fig 07 home is wherever Mom is (4)
Fig 07 Home is wherever Mom is (4)
Fig 08 You are reminded of differences every day and it is up to you as a person to fit in or f.. off to be blunt. The thing is Africa is in your soul and no matter how hard you try it will always be a part of who you are (5)
Fig 08 You are reminded of differences every day and it is up to you as a person to fit in or f.. off to be blunt. The thing is Africa is in your soul and no matter how hard you try it will always be a part of who you are (5)
Fig 09 You always have your memories. Remember those never-ending sand dunes and soft sand on the South African beaches …
Fig 09 You always have your memories. Remember those never-ending sand dunes and soft sand on the South African beaches …
Fig 10 As long as I have family back home I will always have ties to my homeland (7)
Fig 10 As long as I have family back home I will always have ties to my homeland (7)
Reference List

Quotations from SACanada Facebook Group:

(1) Kondos, Petros (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 19 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

(2) Pretorius, Ilana (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 20 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

(3) Pretorius, Ilana (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 20 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

(4) Naidoo, Sessie (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 21 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

(5) Lee, Angela (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 20 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

(6) Lazarus, Leonie  (2015). SACanada Group. [Facebook] 20 November. Available from: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sacanada/ [Accessed 21 November, 2015]

 

5 thoughts on “Assignment 3 – Revisited”

  1. I am reminded so much by many of the things you say in your comments. The line about putting a part of yourself away is really pertinent and resonates hugely with me. Yup! When I was at drama school they kept saying, come on, we know there is this force in you that you won’t let go of, where is it? Let it out! Then one day I did a speech from an Athol Fugard play and blew them all away. Aaaah they said, there it is. But I wasn’t able to access that part of me unless I reverted to the person I truly was – unfortunately I was unable to be that full person because I didn’t feel it fitted in here. I was 16 then I arrived and lied to my new friends about things I’d done and experienced because I felt so inferior. And then I had to try and back away from that first group because I felt such a fraud, and try to start again with a new group, wanting then not to lie about myself. But it was very difficult. So I know exactly how you feel and was reminded of lots looking through this work. It’s very powerful for me. I don’t know how many shadows you had before but I see very well why you chose to use them here in this work – you literally become a shadow when you feel compelled to pack some of yourself away.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your comments Sarah Jane. I think its only immigrants that truly understand how your identity gets distorted in order to fit in. Other folks don’t always appreciate our South African sense of humour and directness/no-nonsense way of speaking. Maybe I’ll explore this a little more in the next module.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

