Assignment 3 Planning – Time for Peer Feedback

I am really struggling with this self-portraiture assignment. I’m not of the selfie generation where I feel the burning need to photograph myself throughout the day. I’m definitely more comfortable on the other side of the lens. I had originally planned on doing this assignment in an abstract format, but my tutor cautioned me about getting too involved with various techniques, so I’ve had to change tactics quite a bit.

I emigrated from South Africa to Canada twenty years ago and although so much time has passed, one is constantly reminded that one is an immigrant. The question arose in my mind “when does one cease to be an immigrant?” So I logged onto the SA Canada Facebook group to which I belong, occasionally giving advice to newcomers and enlisted some opinions from some of the folks in the group and also to refresh my memory of my immigration experiences. I posed four questions in the group:

  1.   when do you stop being an immigrant and become a “non-immigrant”? For this question I was after their conscious mental switch-over and not the legal route of becoming a Canadian citizen
  2.   when do you begin to identify with your new place of residence?
  3.  when does it become home?
  4.  when do you feel you lose ties with your old homeland?

I got a variety of answers, some not bothering with the questions at all, just voicing opinions on other subjects. But I did receive a number of very interesting responses and I plan on using these responses verbatim as captions for my photos.

Fig 1 As a new immigrant, the initial sense of isolation and dislocation is enormous.
Fig 1 As a new immigrant, the initial sense of isolation and dislocation is enormous.
Fig 2 Your accent and mannerisms will always set you that little bit apart
Fig 2 Your accent and mannerisms will always set you that little bit apart
Fig 3 We regret to inform you that, although your qualifications are superb, you lack the necessary Canadian experience …
Fig 3 We regret to inform you that, although your qualifications are superb, you lack the necessary Canadian experience …
Fig 4 No shared sense of humour. You put a big part of your South African-ness in a box and stash it away
Fig 4 No shared sense of humour. You put a big part of your South African-ness in a box and stash it away
Fig 5 No shared childhood, no shared memories of things that historically happened, no frame of reference to things people sometimes refer to or remember
Fig 5 No shared childhood, no shared memories of things that historically happened, no frame of reference to things people sometimes refer to or remember
Fig 6 You always have your memories. Remember those never-ending sand dunes and soft sand on the South African beaches …
Fig 6 You always have your memories. Remember those never-ending sand dunes and soft sand on the South African beaches …
Fig 7 There are many new things to learn and get used to – like driving in snow
Fig 7 There are many new things to learn and get used to – like driving in snow
Fig 8 You are reminded of differences every day and it is up to you as a person to fit in or f- off to be blunt. The thing is Africa is in your soul and no matter how hard you try, it will always be a part of who you are
Fig 8 You are reminded of differences every day and it is up to you as a person to fit in or f- off to be blunt. The thing is Africa is in your soul and no matter how hard you try, it will always be a part of who you are
Fig 9 Home is wherever mom is
Fig 9 Home is wherever mom is

 

2 thoughts on “Assignment 3 Planning – Time for Peer Feedback”

  1. I think it’s quite poignant and bringing home what it must be like. I also like the way you’ve moved from the shadows – speaking for everyone – to more personal aspects for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

