Assignment 2 Revisited

In her tutor report, my tutor suggested I take a look at playing around with the sequencing of my series of photos or possibly bringing in some quieter images that I had in my contact sheets. She likened viewing images to listening to a ballad. When I was in the process of creating my surreal photos I noticed that I was keeping to the same basic overall colour palette – that of muted shades of brown and I found that this seemed to anchor the surreal effect that I was trying to achieve. I also did not want to break the dream effect that I was trying to create with the double and long exposures by bringing in a straight colourful photograph. This would have created an “awake now” effect, I think. Perhaps, if I expand this body of work at a later stage, I can incorporate more of the other images.

However, I agreed with my tutor’s suggestion that I needed to resequence my set of images and provide captions. After putting some time distance between the completed assignment and coming back to it now I can see the need for that. I printed out the photos on regular paper and played with the sequencing at home, then I created a contact sheet in LightRoom and shared that with my fellow students on our Facebook Group. A few mentioned they preferred the original sequence (thanks guys). Someone suggested putting all the lying down images together and all the upright images together. I didn’t like this as there wasn’t much of a break in tonal values when I did this. Another student made some very specific suggestions about the sequencing which I have implemented to a large extent below. The one image’s position which was not up for negotiation was my final image which I think explains all the aforegoing images – the big reveal in a manner of speaking. I believe there is a better flow and rhythm now.

Here then is my new sequencing of “60 Points of Pain”.

 

A barrier to pain
A barrier to pain
Self-inflicted pain
Self-inflicted pain
A morphine induced dreamlike state
A morphine induced dreamlike state
The reverberation of pain
The reverberation of pain
Pain-related insomnia
Pain-related insomnia
Reaching for pain relief
Reaching for pain relief
Pain Shield
Pain Shield
The ticking of the clock is like the throbbing in my leg
The ticking of the clock is like the throbbing in my leg
Captured by pain - no escape
Captured by pain – no escape
60 points of pain
60 points of pain

 

2 thoughts on “Assignment 2 Revisited”

Leave a Reply

